My December To-Do List. Gettin’ Ready to Nail it in 2015!

Christmas lightsI probably chose the worst possible time of the year to launch my new business. Who on earth is even thinking about new marketing initiatives during the holidays? With year-end wrap ups looming, budgets, planning, vacations and so on, the odds that someone would actually make a decision to hire outside marketing help and put them to work are, roughly speaking, nil. Nada. Zipporino.

So I decided to make the most of what is likely to be some pretty serious downtime to make sure that when 2015 rolls around and people are more focused on business and marketing again, I’m ready and more able than ever to make a difference for them.

So, here is my December to-do list. It’s possible that some of the things I’m thinking about would be helpful to you too, either at work or just in general. If so, grab an egg nog, put on the Michael Buble’ and join me!

to-do-list

Get sharp on social media.

I have known for quite a while that marketers and their companies simply cannot ignore social media. One glaringly obvious reason is that OUR CUSTOMERS AND PROSPECTS ARE THERE. But of course there are tons of good reasons… better targeting, better user engagement, scalability, cost-efficient lead generation, increased sales, more profits.

Social Media as a category is a moving target. I have to be vigilant to remain relevant. You do too, because one way or another Social is good for your business.

I have bought or borrowed several books on the topic, like Gary Vaynerchuk’s “Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook”. I have joined a couple of meet-up groups that specialize in social media marketing, and I’m paying much more attention to what my daughters are doing, like NOT being on Facebook and spending more time on Instagram, Reddit, Pinterest and Tumblr. My goal by January 1 is to have a thorough grasp on the practical implications for all new media, for myself, my business and for my clients.

Write, Design, Develop and Launch a new website.

The website you are on right now, www.michaellmorrison.com, is really nothing more than a blog. For it to become a legitimate, business building asset for my consulting company, it needs to speak directly to the financial services company executives I want to help with messaging and solutions they care about. My marketing materials and proposals need to resonate too.

Here’s how serious I think this is… I even shot a video with the help of some old friends (and Emmy Award winners, I might add) when I was in Montana for Thanksgiving last week. Why? Video improves search and keeps visitors on your site longer. I’ll be using mine to help drive lead generation, because I need to know my site does more than just look good. You should know that too.

I intend to keep blogging about broader marketing, communications, and business & leadership issues, but starting in January, this site will have a much larger scope. If things go according to plan, it will also see a significant jump in traffic. All good things!

 

Hone my pitch.

I’m positioning Michael L Morrison Marketing as an outsourced Chief Marketing Officer, with competencies and relationships to solve any marketing and communications problem my clients might have. But I want to be sure this isn’t too broad for my prospects to process.

There are consultants out there with a narrow focus on one or two disciplines, like video production or media training. For companies with a very specific problem to solve, it’s easy to decide if these consultants fit the bill. These are just two of the many services my firm provides,

I personally think offering a one-stop-shop for all marketing and communications challenges is a good idea, particularly given my strategic, integrated approach – but I’m going to do some market research to see what kind of positioning and messaging really resonates with executives in the financial services biz.

Every company should be constantly evaluating their messaging and positioning. Remember, it’s not what you have to say that matters, it’s what your customers and prospects are prepared to hear and act upon.

That’s my December. Of course I will also make time for fun holiday stuff. Our daughters and Jake (our older daughter’s fiancé) will all be here. We’re thrilled to have them close by whenever we can, so I’ll be sure to make plenty of time to enjoy their company. Maybe I can get them to walk me through Tumblr! Whatever your plans are, I hope you have a warm and rewarding holiday season and that 2015 is your best year yet!

 

What are your year-end plans? What are you expectations for 2015 and what are you doing now to make them a reality?

 

 

